Channel sheet · CH-25 · gain 2 min · logged October 10, 2026

AI MarketingDirect input

OpenAI Adds Visual Ads and Branding Tools to ChatGPT Monetization

OpenAI is extending ChatGPT's monetization stack with visual advertising and brand-management tooling, per TradingView. The shift moves the chatbot beyond subscriptions toward ad-supported operations.

By Nathan Brooks2 min read464 words

Signal notes

  1. OpenAI is adding visual ads and branding tools to ChatGPT, per TradingView
  2. ChatGPT had more than 200 million weekly active users as of August 2024
  3. Current ChatGPT subscription pricing spans $20 per month (Plus) to $200 per month (Pro)
  4. Launch date, CPM, and advertiser roster were not disclosed in the TradingView report
  5. The expansion marks the first OpenAI product to bundle ad serving with brand-management tooling
OpenAI Expands ChatGPT Monetization With Visual Ads And Branding Tools - TradingView
Input monitorOpenAI Expands ChatGPT Monetization With Visual Ads And Branding Tools - TradingView — AI-generated

OpenAI is adding visual advertising and branding tools to ChatGPT's monetization framework, TradingView reported. The move extends the chatbot's revenue model beyond paid subscriptions and into ad-supported operations.

The TradingView report did not include a launch date, CPM benchmarks, advertiser roster, or disclosure on whether ads will run in free, paid, or both tiers.

What do the new monetization layers cover?

The expansion targets two product tracks:

  • Visual ads delivered inside ChatGPT sessions
  • Branding tools that let marketers manage identity, creative assets, and campaign structure within the platform

The combination resembles the dual-track approach used by search and social ad platforms, where inventory and creator-side tooling ship together.

How does this fit OpenAI's existing revenue mix?

ChatGPT currently runs on a freemium model with Plus, Pro, Team, Enterprise, and Edu paid tiers. Subscription pricing on OpenAI's site ranges from $20 per month for Plus to $200 per month for Pro. Adding ad inventory creates a third revenue line alongside API sales to developers.

This is the first publicly reported OpenAI initiative that bundles ad serving and brand-management tooling into a single product surface. Earlier monetization experiments centered on the GPT Store revenue-share program rolled out in 2024, which let builders earn from custom GPT usage.

Who is the likely advertiser base?

OpenAI disclosed more than 200 million weekly active ChatGPT users as of August 2024. That audience skews toward knowledge workers, developers, and students — segments that enterprise software vendors, edtech firms, and direct-to-consumer brands already target through search and social campaigns.

Whether OpenAI will open the inventory to small and mid-size businesses or restrict initial access to a curated set of launch partners remains unspecified in the TradingView report.

What risks does the model carry?

Placing ads inside conversational AI responses introduces editorial risks that search and social platforms have spent years managing. ChatGPT answers are generated, not curated, which complicates brand-safety controls. Advertisers typically treat ad placement as a measurable inventory product; generative responses are harder to audit for adjacency to off-brand or policy-violating content.

OpenAI has not disclosed how brand-safety filters will work, how disclosures will appear to users, or whether sponsored answers will be labeled. Those operational details will determine whether enterprise advertisers — who generally require audit trails — participate at scale.

What we still don't know

The TradingView report left the following unspecified:

  • Launch timeline and geographic rollout
  • CPM, CPC, or revenue-share terms
  • Tier coverage (free, paid, or both)
  • Launch advertisers or agency partners
  • Ad-format specifications: display units, sponsored answers, native chat inserts

OpenAI has not issued a separate press release on the report as of publication. Mart Signal will update with launch details, pricing, and advertiser roster once OpenAI confirms terms.

via Google News — Brand safety and AI advertising (Source)

Filed under

  • chatgpt
  • openai
  • ai-advertising
  • monetization
  • brand-safety
Share this article:

More from Nathan Brooks

Nathan Brooks

Show full bio

Correspondent covering marketplaces and e-commerce at Mart Signal.

93 articles

Bus out

‹ Previous articleNext article ›