Channel sheet · CH-28 · gain 2 min · logged October 10, 2026
AI MarketingDirect input
OpenAI adds new purchase paths for ChatGPT advertising
OpenAI has announced new purchase paths for ChatGPT advertising, expanding how brands can buy placements inside the chatbot. Pricing, partner names, and rollout specifics were not disclosed.
By Marcus Bennett2 min read399 words
Signal notes
- OpenAI announced new ChatGPT ad buying paths via its news channel, with no pricing or partner list attached.
- The release does not specify whether the new options are self-service, partner-mediated, or agency-only.
- No CPM, CPC, rate card, or inventory forecast was published in the announcement.
- Operators tracking the rollout should watch for DSP, agency, and measurement vendor integrations over the next 30-60 days.

OpenAI has announced new purchase paths for ChatGPT advertising, expanding how brands can buy placements inside the chatbot as the company builds out its ads business.
The announcement went out under the headline "New ways to buy ChatGPT ads" on OpenAI's news channel. OpenAI did not, in the version of the release made available, include pricing, a formal rate card, a list of partner platforms, or a specific launch date.
What the announcement actually says
The release indicates additional buying options for ChatGPT inventory. It does not specify whether those options are self-service, partner-mediated, agency-only, or open to all advertisers. The new purchase paths, as described, are additive to whatever buying flow existed before the announcement.
Why this matters for ad operations
ChatGPT is one of the largest consumer AI surfaces in active use. Any shift in how inventory is bought and sold across that surface has commercial implications for the agencies and ad-tech firms that buy display, video, and search-like placements for brand clients.
The change in entry points, even without a published rate card, is itself a signal. New buying flows typically widen the demand pool. A wider pool of buyers changes who wins each placement and at what price.
What is missing from the announcement
A standard OpenAI ad-launch announcement would normally carry several concrete items. The release under review is light on specifics:
- No published CPM, CPC, or flat-rate pricing
- No inventory forecast or impression volumes
- No list of launch partners or DSP integrations
- No specific geography beyond the prior ChatGPT ad footprint
- No measurement or attribution framework
The absence of these details suggests the new buying options may be in a soft-launch phase, with fuller disclosures to follow as more advertisers gain access.
What operators should watch
Ad operations teams running paid campaigns against AI surfaces should track three items over the next 30 to 60 days:
- Reach changes inside ChatGPT as additional advertisers enter the auction.
- New partner announcements from DSPs, agency holding companies, or measurement vendors tied to ChatGPT inventory.
- Any published rate card or programmatic pipe from OpenAI.
Each of these will signal whether the new purchase paths are opening to a broad audience or staying inside a managed-service tier.
For now, the trade press has the headline. The numbers, the partner names, and the integration map are still to come.
via Google News — AI advertising measurement (Source)
More from Marcus Bennett
Show full bio
Senior reporter covering media and advertising at Mart Signal.
103 articles